Sort and display your contacts

Jeri Oien -

You can sort your contacts according to various categories (their status, group membership, and privacy relationships), and you can choose how you want to display the individual contact listings.

Sort contacts in the Contacts list

  1. To organize your contacts so that those who are online display at top of the list, click Status. Your online contacts will display at the top, followed by those with a status of Away, Unknown, and Unavailable.
  2. To display your contacts according the groups they are members of (including the default groups Frequent Contacts and Other Contacts and any groups you’ve created), click Groups.
  3. To sort your contacts by their privacy relationship, click Relationship. (To see explanations of what the relationships are, right-click a contact, and then point to Change Privacy Relationship.)

Change the look of individual entries in your Contacts list

  •  Click the arrow next to the Display Options button below the search box to display the Layout Options menu.
  • Depending on how you’ve sorted your contacts, different options appear in the menu. For example, you can choose to show “friendly names” as opposed to email names or status details as opposed to only names. If your company has enabled displaying contact pictures in the Contacts list, you can choose whether to show pictures, which determines how many contacts fit in the window. (If you don’t show pictures, the choice is between name only, on one line, or name and details, on a second line.)

    Note: You can also turn off pictures everywhere in Lync by clicking My Picture in the Lync - Options dialog box. For more information, see Set picture options.

    Change the way that Lync displays contacts

    In your Contacts list, click the Display Options button below the search box to switch between one and two lines of information per contact. If your company uses contact photographs, a two-line view displays the photos.

    For more choices, click the down arrow beside Display Options to open the Layout Options menu.

    View contacts by privacy relationship (formerly called access level)

    • In your Contacts list, click the Relationship button below the search box.

    To understand what presence information is exposed for each privacy relationship, see the article Control access to your presence information at http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/communicator-help/control-access-to-your-presence-information-HA101850361.aspx 

    Move, copy, and remove contacts

    In your Contacts list, do the following to move, copy, and remove or delete contacts.

    • To move a contact to another group, right-click the contact, point to Move Contact To, and then click the group you want.
    • To copy the contact to another group, right-click the contact, click Copy Contact to, and then click the group you want.
    • To remove the contact from the group, right-click the contact, and then click Remove from Group.
    • To remove the contact entirely, right-click the contact, and then click Remove from Contacts List.

    Important: When you remove a contact from one group, that contact will be removed from your Contact List completely, unless he or she still has membership in another of your groups.

    Note: Your Contacts list can't be exported to or copied by other Lync users. Every person’s Contacts list will be different because everyone has unique relationships, privacy requirements, and communication preferences. A simple way to share key professional contacts with coworkers is to create a key-contacts distribution list in Outlook from which everyone can select contacts to add to their Contacts lists in Lync.

    Important: Depending on how you are viewing contacts (by group, status, or relationship), moving and copying functions differ. Be aware that dragging contacts between privacy relationship groups changes the privacy relationship for the contact

    View a contact card

  • Depending on the privacy relationship that a contact has granted you, you can see his or her schedule, as well as a personal note. The contact card also provides a point for connecting with the contact, including starting an instant messaging conversation, calling, scheduling a meeting, or sending an email.

    1. In your Contacts list, point to a contact’s picture (or status icon, if pictures aren’t displayed) to see a basic contact card.

    2. To get more information, click the Expand contact card button (down arrow) in the lower-right corner of the card.

    3. To keep the card visible, click the Pin button in the upper-right corner of the card. You can drag the card to a convenient place on the desktop.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk